12° Nicosia,
24 May, 2024
Home  /  News

Cyprus to ease travel rules from April 1

A new risk-based travel list comes into effect on April 1, which includes several third country additions and aims to boost arrivals by easing up on self-isolation rules


The Health Ministry’s epidemiological unit issued on Monday a modified risk-based classification of countries, with changes to come into effect on April 1.

The Ministry said modifications include the downgrading of Ireland from category orange to red.

A Cyprus cabinet decision foresees the gradual resumption of flights from April 1, with several third countries included in the revised catalogue. Several countries, including the United Kingdom, Israel, Russia, the United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt and Belarus are being moved from the grey category to category red.

The green category includes Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, and Saudi Arabia. Passengers arriving from these countries are free of all restrictions, including the requirement to conduct a coronavirus test and self-isolate.

Passengers arriving from countries in the orange category, including Portugal, China, Hong Kong and Macau, South Korea and Thailand, are required to have conducted a PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure and present a certificate showing a negative result.

Orange country arrivals that are Cypriot nationals, as well as members of their families, may undergo a PC test upon arrival. Also included in this category are persons who legally reside in Cyprus and those who are allowed to enter the Republic based on the Vienna Convention. The cost of these tests is covered by the travellers, who have to remain in self-isolation until results are issued.
The red category includes countries with increased danger compared to the green and orange categories. The category includes EU member states Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Finland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Germany, Denmark and Ireland.

Also included are small states Andorra,  Monaco, Vatican City,  San Marino, members of the Schengen Area Switzerland,  Liechtenstein, Norway and third countries United Kingdom, Israel, Russia,  United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus,  Qatar, Serbia, United States of America,  Armenia,  Georgia, Bahrain and Rwanda.

In this category double laboratory testing is required: a negative laboratory PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure and another laboratory PCR test upon arrival to Cyprus. Arrivals from red category countries don’t have to self-isolate.

Cypriot citizens and legal residents of the Republic can opt to undergo just one coronavirus upon arrival to Cyprus, but in this case self-isolation is required until results are issued. If a negative PCR test taken 72 hours prior to departure is presented, self-isolation is not mandatory.

Regarding category Grey, the procedure for obtaining a special entry permit into the Republic shall be implemented for citizens of third countries (exempt from the requirement of a special permit are Cypriot citizens, persons lawfully residing in the Republic of Cyprus and European citizens). In this category, persons arriving in the Republic shall remain in compulsory self-isolation, in accordance with the relevant instructions of the Ministry of Health.  

Cyprus  |  travel  |  tourism  |  flight  |  airport  |  coronavirus  |  health  |  test  |  isolation

News: Latest Articles