12° Nicosia,
25 July, 2024
Home  /  News

FIFA slaps transfer embargo on 11 Cypriot clubs over outstanding debts

Meanwhile, the Champions League round of 16 draw unveils intriguing matchups


In an anticipated move, FIFA has enforced a transfer embargo on 11 Cypriot football clubs due to lingering debts. The repercussions highlight a recurrent pattern where managements, often waiting until the eleventh hour, grapple with settling debts and accepting the subsequent penalties.

The embargo, currently in effect, prevents these clubs from making any transfer moves in the upcoming January window unless resolutions are reached with owed players or coaches.

Of the 11 clubs affected, four belong to the top flight, with three publicly disclosing their status. APOEL, AEL, and Anorthosis have all confirmed the imposition of the embargo, as reported by their respective representatives. Adding to this quartet is AEZ, completing the list of first-division teams under restriction.

Additionally, five second-division teams find themselves under embargo: Olympiacos, Pegeia, Freedom 24 ENY Digeni Ipsona, PAEK, and Hermes. Olympias Libion, positioned at the bottom of the third category, and the now-disbanded Alki, also face transfer restrictions.

The comprehensive list of clubs subject to the embargo includes:
2. AEL
3. Anorthosis
4. AEZ
5. Pegeia
6. Freedom 24 ENY Digeni Ipsona
8. Olympiacos
9. Hermes
10. Olympias Libion
11. Alki

Meanwhile, the draw for the round of 16 in the Champions League unfolded at noon on Monday in Nyon, Switzerland, revealing a set of compelling matchups.

While the draw did not yield any particularly massive clashes, attention is drawn to Simeone's return to the "Meatza" for the Inter-Atletico duel, and the intense battle anticipated between Napoli and Barcelona.

The first-leg knockout games are scheduled for February 13-14 and 20-21, with the return legs set for March 5-6 and 12-13, 2024.

Mark your calendars for the pinnacle event, as the final is slated to take place on June 1 at Wembley Stadium in London.

The eight pairs determined by the draw are as follows:
- Porto vs. Arsenal
- Napoli vs. Barcelona
- Paris vs. Real Sociedad
- Inter vs. Atletico Madrid
- Eindhofen vs. Dortmund
- Lazio vs. Bayern Munich
- Copenhagen vs. Manchester City
- Leipzig vs. Real

[Information from 24Sports]

Cyprus  |  Sports  |  Fifa

News: Latest Articles