12° Nicosia,
22 June, 2024
Home  /  News

Αll passengers arriving in Cyprus need to present a negative PCR test prior to departure

Will be in effect from the 4th of January onwards

Source: CNA

The Health Ministry has announced new regulations for passengers arriving in Cyprus, effective the 4th of January.  According to the announcement, all passengers regardless of their vaccination course, are asked to present a negative PCR 48 hrs prior to their departure.

The regulation will apply to all passengers traveling on the 4th, including those who have filled out their CyprusFlightPass within 48 hrs prior to January 4th.

The Ministry also reminds the public that all passengers, regardless of their vaccination course, are required to undergo a PCR test upon arrival at their own expense.

All passengers, except those who have had the booster shot (3rd dose), are required to undergo a rapid antigen test at the end of the 72 hours after their arrival.

Passengers who are required to undergo a rapid test are those arriving from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Holland, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Australia, Egypt, Argentina, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UAE, UK, Japan, Indonesia, Jordan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, Kuwait, Belarus, Lebanon, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Uruguay, Peru, Rwanda, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Chile.

Grey zone countries (Special Permission):
All other countries that are not included in the above list, are considered grey zone countries.  Passengers arriving from these countries are required to have special permission or pre-approval before entry into the Republic.

Entry into the Republic of Cyprus is only allowed for the following categories:

1. Cypriot citizens and family members (alien spouses and their underage children),

2. European citizens and citizens of European Economic Area countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland,

3. Persons legally residing in the Republic,

4. Persons entitled to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention, and

5. Third-country nationals who are allowed to enter the Republic of Cyprus following special permission from the Republic, as defined in the Quarantine Decree (N.9) of 2021.

Passengers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus from the Grey Category countries (Special Permission) shall remain in mandatory self-isolation or mandatory quarantine for a period of fourteen (14) days or alternatively, in mandatory self-isolation or mandatory quarantine for a period of seven (7) days provided that they undergo another Covid-19 test (at their own expense) on the 7th day and the result comes back negative.

Passengers, who in the last 14 days, have visited or traveled through the following countries, are not allowed into the Cyprus Republic:

South Africa
Kingdom of Eswatini

More information is available at

Cyprus  |  health  |  measures

News: Latest Articles

Facebook photo

Donald Sutherland dead at 88

The prolific actor, who appeared in many well known movies and TV shows, died in Miami after a long illness
 |  NEWS