12° Nicosia,
29 May, 2024
Home  /  News

Cyprus issues revised risk-based list

The new list, which will come into effect on July 23, features Italy in category B and other additional countries


The Cyprus health services on Monday issued a revised list categorizing countries from which the island accepts visitors according to their epidemiological risk. The revised list comes into effect on July 23.

Category A – Currently low risk countries

EU member states: Austria, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland

Schengen Area members: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway

Third countries: Japan, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea

Visitors flying into Cyprus from category A countries are not required to show proof of a negative coronavirus test, nor are they required to self-isolate upon arrival.

Category B – Possible low risk, higher risk than Category A

EU member states: Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, the Netherlands, Czech Republic

Smaller countries: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino

Third countries: Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Morocco, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, China

Visitors flying in from category B countries are required to present proof of a negative coronavirus test conducted within 72 hours prior to their flight.

Some groups also have the option of being tested for the virus upon arrival in Cyprus, with these persons required to shoulder the cost of the test and remain in self-isolation until results are issued. These groups include: Cyprus citizens and their family members, legal residents of the island, those permitted entry into the Republic of Cyprus by the Vienna Convention, those flying in from countries which do not offer the option of a coronavirus test for those wishing to travel to the Republic of Cyprus, and those who secure special permission from Cyprus authorities.

Category C – Higher risk compared to Categories A and B

EU member states: Portugal, Sweden, Luxembourg, Romania


Third countries: Serbia, Montenegro

Passengers arriving from a category C country can either choose to get tested for the virus upon arrival in Cyprus or to be tested prior to departure. A 14-day self-isolation is mandatory for arrivals from category C countries.

Cyprus  |  list  |  epidemiological  |  category  |  travel  |  tourism  |  coronavirus  |  health  |  risk

News: Latest Articles