12° Nicosia,
01 October, 2022
Home  /  News

Winners of the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize

Journalists awarded for safeguarding freedom of expression


Maria Ressa from the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov from Russia, both journalists by profession, are the winners of the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize.

The award was given for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a prerequisite for democracy and peacekeeping.

"Ms. Ressa and Mr. Muratov are being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for their courageous struggle for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia," Norwegian Commission President Barrett Reyes Andersen told a news conference.

He added that "the two winners represent all the journalists who fight for this ideal in a world where democracy and freedom of the press are increasingly facing adverse conditions."

The award will be presented on December 10, the date of Alfred Nobel's death.

Cyprus  |  Philippines  |  Russia  |  Nobel  |  Peace  |  journalist

News: Latest Articles

EC says 'no' to price cap proposal

EC says 'no' to price cap proposal

Commission defies calls for a price cap on Russian gas imports from 15 EU countries and several European commissioners
Kathimerini Greece Newsroom
 |  NEWS
Op-ed: ‘Woman, life, freedom!’

Op-ed: ‘Woman, life, freedom!’

'Isn’t there an obvious contradiction that a country claiming to be a democracy has a special police force tasked with carrying ...
 |  NEWS