12° Nicosia,
25 October, 2020
Home  /  News

Cyprus revises classification of countries for travel

Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Lichtenstein were bumped down to category B, while Rwanda and Monaco were also downgraded to the lowest category


The Cyprus health ministry on Tuesday downgraded Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia and Lichtenstein to category B in its three-tier risk-based travel classification system, while Rwanda and Monaco were bumped down to category C.

The revised list comes into effect on September 5.

Category A – Low risk

EU member states: Germany, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Finland.

Schengen members: Norway.

Third countries: Georgia, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand.

Passengers arriving from Category A countries are not obliged to present a COVID-19 test certificate, nor are they obliged to self-isolate.

Category B – Possible low risk, higher risk than Category A

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic.

United Kingdom

Schengen members: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein.

Small states: Vatican City, San Marino.

Third countries: Uruguay, China, Japan, Australia.

Passengers from Category B countries must have a COVID-19 test certificate, proving they tested negative.

Cypriot citizens residing permanently in Cyprus, their foreign partners and underage children, as well as all legal residents of Cyprus, persons eligible according to the Vienna Convention, and persons whose countries do not provide testing services, can be tested on arrival at their own cost and must remain at home until the results are made available.

Category C – Higher risk compared to Categories A and B

EU member states: Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Malta, The Netherlands.

Small countries: Andorra, Monaco.

Third counties: Algeria, Serbia, Morocco, Montenegro, Rwanda, Tunisia, Russia, Ukraine, Faroe Islands, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Israel, Lebanon, Qatar, Bahrein, Saudi Arabia.

Passengers from Category C countries are obliged to self-isolate for 14 days.

Information and instructions are available at

All passengers, irrespective of the category of country they are travelling from, are obliged to apply for the CyprusFlightPass within 24 hours of their flight’s departure.

Random tests for passengers of selected flight arrivals will be carried out.

Cyprus  |  travel  |  tourism  |  country  |  health  |  coronavirus  |  pandemic  |  category  |  risk  |  quarantine  |  test  |  certificate  |  isolation

News: Latest Articles

According to the current Navtex, the Oruc Reis will conduct activities west and northwest of the Kastellorizo island ​​complex, and to its east reaching up to 6.5 nautical miles away

Friction in East Med to be prolonged

Turkey’s Oruc Reis seismic survey vessel will explore the area east of the 28th meridian for another two months, according ...
Kathimerini Greece Newsroom
 |  NEWS
Exempt from this rule are people who are exercising or actively eating or drinking

Masks made mandatory outdoors

Among the tighter restrictions to be enforced on Friday is a mandatory mask use rule in all outdoor public spaces
 |  NEWS
Thursday’s new cases smashed the record for the highest number of cases to be detected in a single day

188 new infections detected

188 new coronavirus cases were detected in the Republic of Cyprus on Thursday after 4,304 tests were conducted, raising ...
 |  NEWS