12° Nicosia,
17 July, 2024
Home  /  News

President Christodoulidis announces Cabinet reshuffle

New appointments set to take effect on January 10, 2023


President Nikos Christodoulidis has announced a series of government appointments, effective Wednesday, January 10, 2023. The changes, made under constitutional authority, include:

  • Vassilis Palmas as the new Minister of Defense
  • Maria Panagiotou as Minister of Agriculture, Rural Development, and Environment
  • Marios Hartsiotis taking the role of Minister of Justice and Public Order
  • Michalis Damianos appointed as Minister of Health
  • Nikodimos Damianou named Deputy Minister of Innovation, Research, and Digital Policy
  • Marilena Rauna was assigned as Deputy Minister of European Affairs
  • Panagiotis Palates to serve as Citizen Commissioner
  • Charalambos Christofinas designated as Commissioner of Mountainous Areas
  • Antonia Theodosiou appointed as Commissioner of the Environment

President Christodoulidis thanked the outgoing ministers for their service and collaborative efforts.

Minister of Defense: Vassilis Palmas

Vassilis Palmas, born in Limassol in 1964, studied Political Science and Public Administration. He previously served as the President of the Youth of the Democratic Party (NEDHK) and as the General Secretary of the Democratic Party (DIKO). Palmas held the position of Deputy Minister of State in the government of President Nikos Anastasiadis from May 8, 2017, to February 2, 2022.

Minister of Agriculture, Rural Development, and Environment: Maria Panagiotou

Maria Panagiotou, born on June 5, 1982, in Larnaca, is a historian and archaeologist. In March 2023, she was appointed Environment Commissioner by President Christodoulidis. Panagiotou previously worked as the Head of the EDEK Press Office and Party Spokeswoman. She holds a PhD in Modern and Contemporary History from the University of Cyprus.

Minister of Justice and Public Order: Marios Hartsiotis

Marios Hartsiotis, a Nicosia native and law graduate from the University of Athens, has had his own law office in Limassol since 1990. He holds a Master's degree in Theology from the University of Nicosia. Hartsiotis is a registered Arbitrator at the Cyprus Arbitration and Mediation Center and a registered Insolvency Practitioner.

Minister of Health: Michalis Damianos

Michalis Damianos, originally from Polystipos and Larnaca, is a barrister with an LLB with honors from the University of Southampton and an LLM in International Law from the University of Cambridge. Damianos worked in international law firms in London before returning to Cyprus. He served as a Municipal Councilor in the Municipality of Strovolos from 2011 to 2016 and has been the Vice President of the Democratic Party since 2018.

Deputy Minister of Innovation, Research, and Digital Policy: Nikodimos Damianou

Nikodimos Damianou, born in Nicosia in 1973, holds a Bachelor in Computer Science degree from Brown University and a Ph.D. in Computer and Network Management from Imperial College. He has extensive experience in Payment Systems and fintech and has served as the General Manager of JCC Payment Systems Ltd for the last six years.

Deputy Minister of European Affairs: Marilena Rauna

Marilena Rauna, born in Larnaca in 1983, has a background in law and international relations. She previously served as the director of the Diplomatic Office of the President of the Republic in the government of Nikos Christodoulidis.

Citizen Commissioner: Panagiotis Palates

Panagiotis Palates, born in Nicosia in 1985, is an archaeology graduate with postgraduate studies at the University of Strasbourg in France. He has worked in academic research programs and as an Advisor to the PtD in the House of Representatives.

Commissioner of Environment: Antonia Theodosiou

Antonia Theodosiou, an architect with a master's degree in Architecture from Aachen University of Technology, Germany, has made significant contributions:

Professional Background: Specialized in ecological building and architectural heritage restoration.

Career Highlights: Managed the Akama Sustainable Development Management Plan for five years, focusing on community projects aligned with Natura 2000-Akama Peninsula protection goals. and collaborated with UNESCO for the inclusion of Xerolithia in the Intangible Cultural Heritage list.

Awards and Recognition: Received national and international awards for outstanding architecture and landscape projects.

Leadership Roles: Holds leadership positions in international organizations, including Vice-President of SPS and Vice President of ICOMOS.

Environmental and Cultural Engagement: Active involvement in environmental and cultural organizations, with a founding role in the Environmental Movement.

Authorship and Publications: Authored key publications on traditional architecture, landscape, and cultural heritage of the Akama Peninsula.

Ongoing Projects: Currently involved in projects such as a manual for construction in Cyprus and an electronic guide on Nature and Culture Routes in the Akama Peninsula.

Antonia Theodosiou's impactful career spans sustainable development, cultural heritage, and environmental advocacy, making her a noteworthy figure in her field.

Commissioner of Mountainous Areas: Charalambos Christofinas

Charalambos Christofinas, born in Kyperounda on 03/29/1966, holds a degree in Political Science and Public Administration. He has a background in both the public and private sectors, including work in the Water Development Department and the construction services industry. Christofinas has been active in local councils and cultural committees, contributing to his community in various capacities.


News: Latest Articles