12° Nicosia,
27 May, 2024
Home  /  News

Man of the year awards tonight at 830pm

Pioneering figures who make us proud to be Cypriot


The annual Man of the Year Awards ceremony is being held today, November 8, for the 20th year in a row.  Since 2001, the ceremony has honored pioneers in their respective fields who, with their work, determination, vision and ethos, pushed boundaries and opens the door to new and innovative ideas. 

This year, a total of 9 awards will be given to men who had the conviction to pursue their dreams while paving the way for other Cypriots to follow in their footsteps and do the same.

In previous years, awards were handed to various Cypriot personalities who had a hand in making Cyprus a household name and contributed to the pride of the Cypriot community.

In Sports, Marcos Baghdatis (winner of the award in 2005 and 2006) made history when he placed runner up at the 2006 Australian Open and became a semi-finalist at the Wimbledon Championships.   Pavlos Kontidis (2012, 2017) as well brought Cyprus to the podium of the Olympic Games when he won the silver medal at the 2012 men's laser class sailing event.

In Science, Christoforos Pissaridis (2010) proved that even the Nobel Prize wasn't out of reach when he won the prize for for his contributions to economics in 2010.  World-class geneticist and founder of NIPD Genetics, Dr. Filippos Patsalis (2011), showed the importance of science in contributing to the welfare of our fellow human beings.

In Culture and Society, Andreas Mavrommatis (2015) proved to be one of the best ambassadors for our country by highlighting our rich gastronomic tradition while in Paris.  He is known as the Michelin star chef who teaches the French about Greek food.  By the same token, in 2016, an award was given to  4 friends Konstantinos Christou, Giorgos Irakleous, Giorgos Makkoulis and Panagiotis Papageorgiou, who came together to create an innovative app called Avocarrot, a cutting edge advertising app which was picked up by companies such as Coca Cola, Starbucks and L'Oreal.  They showed that with persistence a dream can be a tangible reality.

In addition to the 9 awardees, 11 nominees will also be honored this year including the former director of the Cyprus Fire Service, Marco Trangola, and the members of the Coordination, Search and Rescue Center.

As it was done last year, winners were chosen by readers of MAN magazine and 200 prominent personalities of Cyprus. The process was supervised by the auditing firm Deloitte.

The event is scheduled for tonight, November 8 at 8:30 pm at Parklane. 

Cyprus  |  award  |  manoftheyear

News: Latest Articles